Virtual Social Security Forum for Africa

5-7 de octubre de 2021 | Virtual

Virtual Social Security Forum for Africa

5-7 de octubre de 2021 | Virtual

Welcome to the Virtual Social Security Forum for Africa, which will be hosted on a dynamic online platform from 5−7 October 2021.

The International Social Security Association (ISSA) is organizing the most important social security event in the region this year. The Virtual Forum will be a unique opportunity to share, learn and network for social security leaders and professionals in Africa.

Featuring high-level speakers from social security institutions, as well as regional and international organizations, the Virtual Forum will identify the key priorities for social security in Africa and provide strategic and practical solutions.

A dedicated online platform for the event will facilitate networking and interaction. The Virtual Forum will promote the active engagement of participants through innovative mechanisms to connect, meet and interact with peers from across the continent.

Agenda

The Virtual Social Security Forum for Africa will put the spotlight on the key priorities, innovative solutions and strategic directions for social security and social security administration in the region.

Considering both longer-term trends and recent innovations in the context of the disruptive COVID-19 pandemic, the event will feature the following daily themes:

Tuesday, 5 October

Social security in Africa: Progress, challenges and solutions

Wednesday, 6 October

Social security administration: Innovating for a stronger social security in Africa

Thursday, 7 October

Strategies for meeting social security needs in Africa

Please consult the provisional agenda for an overview of the event, which will also include the announcement and presentation of the winner of the ISSA Good Practice Award for Africa.

Networking and interaction

A dedicated online platform for the event will facilitate networking between delegates. Participants will be able to connect, direct message, schedule one-to-one meetings and interact with speakers and peers.

The platform will also allow delegates to put together their individual schedule for the Virtual Forum, including technical sessions, learning about ISSA products and services and private meetings.

Time

When planning your participation, please remember to adapt the timing to your time zone. The above-mentioned agenda uses the time zone of Geneva, Switzerland (UTC/GMT+2 or CEST). Below is a table comparing this to African time zones.

  Tuesday,
5 October
Wednesday,
6 October
Thursday,
7 October
Geneva (UTC/GMT+2 or CEST) 11:30−17:45 11:30−17:45 11:30−15:00
Cabo Verde Time (UTC/GMT-1) 08:30−14:45 08:30−14:45 08:30−12:00
Greenwich Mean Time (UTC/GMT) 09:30−15:45 09:30−15:45 09:30−13:00
West Africa (UTC/GMT+1) 10:30−16:45 10:30−16:45 10:30−14:00
Central Africa (UTC/GMT+2) 11:30−17:45 11:30−17:45 11:30−15:00
East Africa (GMT+3) 12:30−18:45 12:30−18:45 12:30−16:00
Mauritius/Seychelles (UTC/GMT+4) 13:30−19:45 13:30−19:45 13:30−17:00

Languages

Simultaneous interpretation will be provided in English, French and Portuguese, while documents and the online platform will be available in English and French.