ISSA Webinar: Digitalisation in social security – Services and coverage in South Asia

11 March 2021 | Virtual

ISSA Webinar: Digitalisation in social security – Services and coverage in South Asia

11 March 2021 | Virtual

Thursday, 11 March 2021, 10:00–11:30 (UTC/GMT+1 or CET)

12:30 in Islamic Republic of Iran (UTC +3:30)
14:00 in Maldives and Pakistan (UTC +5:00)
14:30 in India and Sri Lanka (UTC +5:30)
14:45 in Nepal (UTC +5:45)
15:00 in Bangladesh and Bhutan (UTC +6)

Language: English only

Webinar organised in collaboration with the ISSA Liaison Office for South Asia

In order to enhance customer services and extend coverage, social security institutions increasingly resort to advanced digital and mobile solutions. Personalized user-interfaces, digital identity, e-signatures and secured payments are examples of this new generation of e-services.

Facilitated registration and mobile payments supporting efforts to reach out to difficult-to-cover groups including those working in the informal economy are also major drivers for the digital upgrading.

On the other hand, the COVID-19 crisis has significantly accelerated the use of digital channels to deliver high quality services and reinforced their public acceptance.

However, the implementation of such advanced features to reach service quality goals and extend coverage can be challenging due to technological complexities, organizational barriers and unequal digital literacy.

The webinar will discuss these challenges, lessons learnt and practical experiences in implementing e-services and mobile in South Asia.

Speakers

Abhimanyu Panda Abhimanyu Panda, Deputy Medical Commissioner, Employees’ State Insurance Corporation (ESIC), India
Ajay Kumar Ajay Kumar , Regional Provident Fund Commissioner, Employees’ Provident Fund Organisation (EPFO), India
Hossein Moshiri Tabrizi Hossein Moshiri Tabrizi, Director General of the International Affairs Department, Iranian Social Security Organization (ISSO), Islamic Republic of Iran

This webinar will examine the following questions:

  • What advanced e-services have been implemented in your institution, in particular to enhance coverage?
  • What have been the main challenges and barriers for implementing advanced features?
  • What has been the impact of COVID-19 on the digital service delivery by your institution and what innovations are likely to remain after the end of the crisis?

Agenda

  • Welcome by Marcelo Abi-Ramia Caetano, Secretary General, ISSA
  • Technical introduction by the ISSA
  • Case experience of ESIC, India
  • Case experience of EPFO, India
  • Case experience of ISSO, Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Q&A – Discussion
  • Conclusions
Magid Fathallah Moderated by Magid Fathallah, Regional Coordinator for Africa, Asia and the Pacific

Practical information

The Webinar is open to delegates of ISSA member organizations and invited institutions. There is no registration fee for ISSA members.